Habit Forming

It was on this day in 1754 that the word “serendipity” was first coined. It’s defined by Merriam-Webster as “the faculty or phenomenon of finding valuable or agreeable things not sought for.” It was recently listed by a U.K. translation company as one of the English language’s 10 most difficult words to translate. Other words to make their list include plenipotentiary, gobbledegook, poppycock, whimsy, spam, and kitsch.
From  today’s The Writer’s Almanac with Garrison Keillor.
Just how do you define poppycock or kitsch?
I have the daily poem in my inbox every morning.  I read the daily poem even before reading the news (New York Times, Washington Post).  I might not enjoy the poem, but I have found the brief daily creative history that follows always has something interesting in it.  The connections are worth the five minutes of my day I spend.  And I have discovered or rediscovered a lot of voices of value.
Check it out. at http://writersalmanac.publicradio.org
Someday I will figure out how to add the link thingy.
