squash monsters

I know better.

I still want to lodge a complaint. enter a plea, offer a suggestion to the seed companies out there.  When you package up those little packets of squash seeds, could you reduce the number of seeds in the packet by just a few.

This spring I planted squash seeds in the garden.  I don’t particularly like squash, it being the consistency and color of such appetizing things as baby food and calf scours.  I have only made it past color and consistency a few times, and was stopped, gagging, by texture.  Never got to taste.

But Dennis likes squash.  He eats lots of squash all fall and winter long.  I cook it, he eats it.  So, I planted four hills of squash, four seeds in each hill.  Two kinds of squash- butternut and buttercup- two varieties Dennis likes very much.  I resisted getting other seed varieties since I knew how large squash plants can get in the garden.

Then I realized there were still seeds left in the seed packets.  And there was room left in the garden.  The cucumbers and melons I planted were not going to take up the area available.  So, I planted more squash seed.


I am calling this summer the plant nuclear summer.  Everything has grown and grown and grown.  Corn is ten feet tall.  Weeds are ten feet tall.  Squash is at least twenty feet long.  Giant sized plants.  And everything continues to grow at accelerated rates.  Some the the squash leaves are hat size.

I spent the morning separating and cutting back squash vines.  Butternut squash are growing with admirable vigor.  I have abandoned the beans and kohlrabi to the squash.  No great loss, as I discovered Dennis really doesn’t like beans, and makes horrible faces when forced to eat them.  I expect his faces are no worse than my expressions when confronted with cooked squash on my plate.

Yesterday I ate a tomato from the garden.  My first raw tomato in many years.  It was okay, other than that oozy yellow gelatinous stuff.  I still don’t understand the ecstatic outbursts over fresh ripe tomatoes, but I can swallow the things.  Good thing, there are hundreds ripening on the tomato plants.  Only two tomato plants.   I know better.

I hope to rescue the cucumbers from the squash this weekend.  They are also having a bountiful summer.  I might be able to salvage a few of the pea vines.  And I know I should take down the squash vines running over and through the cleome and phlox.  Of course, the textural contrast is intriguing to look at.  It would be interesting to see who might win in the vigor category…meanwhile the fences we put up to discourage the resident rodents are no barrier to the squash.

And at the back of the garden the tomatoes conspire with the melons.

