And I’m Off!

Today is the first day of my 63rd year on this earth. I’m starting my year off with a couple new projects.

First I am knitting a rug for my room. Just a small one, certainly no carpet, just enough rug to put me feet on next to the bed. I figure it will be about 24″ x 36 inches. I am using a cotton rayon yarn that has been in my stash for a couple years, waiting for me to figure out what to do with it. I am using a moss stitch for texture. It won’t be a squishy rug, but a nobby one. I am hoping it will lie flat.

The second project of the first day of my 63rd year is to make a new journal. I have been using moleskine journals for my daily journal for many years. I like the size (10 x 7.5) and I like the feel of the paper. However, the journals, even the soft cover ones are expensive ($20 for three). So I am going to make my own.

I found some Hammermill paper with the right hand and the right weight for the pages. I had to get 11 x 17, aka tabloid (!?), in order to have the right size pages. I had to cut the paper 10 x 15 and now I am printing the sheets with lines, using a word doc as my template.

I’ll use 30 sheets of paper for each journal. Folded in half, that will give me 120 pages of writing surface. I will use a variation of a pamphlet stitch to sew it all together. I was going to use the sewing machine (Moleskines have machine sewn bindings) but I have decided that I can achieve the same look without the potential ruin of the machine.

I’ll use a thick card stock for the cover. I have lots of the black and blue card stock given to me in the past year. I will start with a black cover, as I think the blue card stock is not long enough. The black card stock is 21″ long and that should be perfect for the cover and the back pocket.

One thought on “And I’m Off!

Comments are closed.